Tyla Formally Introduces Herself on Her Self-Titled Debut Album

After making a splash onto the scene with “Water,” Tyla has proven she’s here to stay on her debut LP TYLA.

On the self-titled project, the South African songstress melds R&B, rap and pop influences with the amapiano sounds of her homeland to deliver a dreamy – and memorable – formal introduction.

“I’m speaking about the things that I’ve gone through while creating the album – basically three years in the making,” the 22-year-old told Apple Music of TYLA’s creation. “I was becoming a woman. So it was a lot of growing that happened, and me realizing my worth and realizing how I want to be treated – and how basically, I’m that girl, and people need to know I’m that girl.”

What was most important for the emerging star, was ensuring the 14-track TYLA was sonically authentic to her African roots. “Since I started experimenting with amapiano, it’s really helped me get to this point where I created something that is fresh and new, but still familiar and comes from home,” she explained.

“Even though I am mixing amapiano with pop and R&B, I didn’t want it to sound watered down. Music is our everything in Africa – the way we speak, the way we dance. It’s just in us. It’s our essence.”

Find the album’s full tracklist – which includes features from Tems, Gunna, Kelvin Momo, Skillibeng, Becky G and, on the steamy “Water” remix, Travis Scott – below.

1. Intro
2. Safer
3. Water
4. Truth or Dare
5. No.1 (feat. Tems)
6. Breathe Me
7. Butterflies
8. On and On
9. Jump (feat. Gunna, Skillibeng)
10. ART
11. On My Body (feat. Becky G)
12. Priorities
13. To Last
14. Water – Remix (feat. Travis Scott)

Tyla also dropped off the visuals for “ART” as well, in which she delivers the ethereal cut from her abode – ridden with fine art and greenery. Check it out below.

Stream TYLA on all major platforms now.

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *